Major works this Autumn

Changes today, better transport tomorrow.

As part of Victoria’s Big Build this autumn, we’ll say goodbye to our 60th dangerous and congested level crossing, open new stations at Hallam and Glenroy and step-up work at level crossing removal construction sites in Preston, Pakenham and Surrey Hills/Mont Albert.

We’ll continue to prepare and power the Sunbury Line to allow bigger and more modern trains to run, creating more space for passengers.

Critical infrastructure projects will continue during current COVID restrictions. This includes safety and maintenance works on public transport. To ensure the safety of all workers and the community, all construction and maintenance work undertaken will operate under a COVIDSafe Plan.

Visit coronavirus.vic.gov.au for more details on current restrictions and the latest advice.

Metropolitan train disruptions

Be sure to plan ahead and allow more time for your journey during the major works this autumn, especially if you’re travelling over the school holiday period.

Plan your journey before you travel using the PTV Journey planner, consider alternatives if you can and travel outside of peak times if possible.

There’ll also be a range of other smaller disruptions for essential works across the network. See Planned Works for information on all current and upcoming disruptions across the network.

March

Line/s Works start Works finish Disruption
Pakenham Line Wednesday 9 March Monday 21 March Buses will replace trains from Dandenong Station to Pakenham Station
Belgrave & Lilydale lines Friday 25 March Friday 1 April Buses will replace trains from Camberwell station to Box Hill Station

April

Line/s Works start Works finish Disruption
Belgrave & Lilydale lines Friday 1 April Sunday 3 April Buses will replace trains from Camberwell Station to Ringwood Station
Pakenham Line Friday 8 April Monday 11 April Buses will replace trains from Berwick Station to Pakenham Station
Craigieburn Line Monday 25 April Friday 6 May Buses will replace trains on various sections of the line

May

Line/s Works start Works finish Disruption
Glen Waverley Line Saturday 7 May Sunday 8 May Buses will replace trains from Burnley Station to Glen Waverley Station
Lilydale Line Thursday 19 May Tuesday 24 May Buses will replace trains from Ringwood station to Lilydale Station