Major works this summer | Metro Trains

Major works this summer

Works continue on some of the state’s biggest transport projects as part of Victoria’s Big Build. Critical maintenance works will also take place on our rail and roads

Changes today, better transport tomorrow

As part of , major works will continue in December, January and February to remove some of Melbourne’s most dangerous and congested level crossings. The Metro Tunnel Project, Sunbury Line Upgrade and Ballarat Line Upgrade will also progress, working to build a better train network for all Victorians.

There will be disruptions to the public transport and road networks while these works and other critical maintenance take place. Be sure to plan ahead and allow extra time, especially if you’re travelling over the holiday period.

Train disruptions

Buses replace trains on the Craigieburn, Cranbourne, Frankston, Lilydale, Pakenham, Stony Point and Werribee lines at different times during summer.

Be sure to plan ahead and allow more time for your journey during the major works this summer, especially if you’re travelling over the holiday period.

Plan your journey before you travel using the PTV Journey Planner, consider alternatives if you can and travel outside of peak times if possible.

There’ll also be a range of other smaller disruptions for essential works across the network. See our Planned Works Page for information on all current and upcoming disruptions across Victoria.

November/December

Major disruptions in November and December

Line/s Disruption Works start Works finish
Cranbourne and Pakenham Buses replace trains between Dandenong and Cranbourne and Caulfield and Cranbourne at differing times Thursday 26 November Wednesday 2 December
Werribee Buses replace trains between Laverton and Werribee Sunday 29 November Sunday 6 December
Lilydale Buses replace trains between Ringwood and Lilydale Friday 11 December Sunday 20 December

January

Major disruptions in January

Line/s Disruption Works start Works finish
Craigieburn Buses replace trains on a section of the Craigieburn Line Friday 8 January Saturday 16 January
Cranbourne Buses replace trains between Dandenong and Cranbourne Sunday 17 January Thursday 21 January
Cranbourne, Pakenham and Frankston Buses replace trains between on a section of the Cranbourne, Pakenham and Frankston lines Friday 22 January Tuesday 26 January
Frankston and Stony Point Buses replace trains between Mordialloc and Frankston

Buses replace trains between Frankston and Stony Point

Sunday 31 January Sunday 7 February

February

Major disruptions in February

Line/s Disruption Works start Works finish
Lilydale Buses replace trains between Ringwood and Lilydale Tuesday 9 February Friday 19 February
Sunbury Buses replace trains between North Melbourne and Sunbury Friday 26 February Monday 8 March

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to top